Triathlon 2019

On Monday 18th March 2019 we held our School Triathlon at Wharewaka Point, where 236 x students, 28 teams and 152 individuals. chose to participate, and what a wonderful event we had. The triathlon was held at Wharewaka Point, on the Taupo Triathlon Club circuit. All students put in an awesome effort with many of them taking their first step towards a ‘Bevan Docherty Award’.

Thank you to all, Baz Haydon and John Kuper for their organization, and to the Taupo Tri-Sports Club for the use of their Management plan and equipment.

Thanks to our teachers and the many parents who either helped manage the course or supported their child. Though all who took part deserve credit, major placings were as follows:


Year 7 Girls Year 7 Boys Year 8 Girls Year 8 Boys
Placing Name Placing Name Placing Name Placing Name
1st Amber Nicol 1st Danilo Brandon 1st Sophie Webber 1st Dylan Gardiner
2nd Emma Speedy 2nd Tom Weston 2nd Rhiannon Scurr 2nd Joseph Brown
3rd Lacey Tupe 3rd Lewis Campbell 3rd Kaea Gage 3rd Zach Forster



Year 7 Teams
1st Boys 1st Girls 1st Mixed
Kane Harris Tessa Smith Sally Ryu
Romeo McIlvride Alivia Hessell Noah Massey-Borman
Victor Marian Teia Simmonds Liam Fryer


Year 8 Teams
1st Boys 1st Girls 1st Mixed
Lucas Neil Caitie Mitchell Patrick Fowler
Angus Thompson Julia Leusink Mathew McLaren
Ryan Lloyd Rory Mackintosh Kayleigh McLaren