Sports

Taupo Intermediate Regional & National Sport

Taupo Intermediate belongs to a group of 11 Intermediate schools which come together for a range of sporting events. The schools range from Taupo through to Rotorua, Tauranga, Whakatane and Gisborne districts. Each school hosts one or more events, with Taupo organising the Mountain Bike and Wall Climbing. Following trials, we send individuals or teams to a majority of these events. (see timetable below)

Other events we are regularly involved in:

  • Waikato/BOP ‘Red Events’ hosted by Errol Newlands (Triathlon, duathlon, Mt Bike & Road cycling.
  • NZ AIMS Games held in September covering a range of codes and up to 10,000 Intermediate Age Students from throughout NZ.
  • North Island Intermediate Road Cycle Champs (hosted by Taupo Intermediate on the Taupo Motor Race Track).
  • Central Plateau Ski Championships at Whakapapa.
  • Several equestrian events in Waikato, BOP and Hawkes Bay.
  • Along with these we support students at a range of North Island and National events eg: NZ Schools Triathlon Champs, NI Schools Mt Bike Champs etc.
BOP/PB – Super 11 – 2019 Timetable
Term 1
Event Week Date Organiser
Tennis 6 Friday 15th March Whakatane
Open Water Swim 6 Friday 15th March Whakatane
Swimming 7 Friday 22nd March Rotorua
Touch Rugby 9 Friday 29th March Mokoia
Term 2
Golf 1 Friday 3rd May Te Puke
Rugby U48kg 2 Friday 10th May Gisborne
Indoor Bowls 3 Friday 17th May Tauranga
Badminton 4 Friday 24th May Whakatane
Squash 5 Friday 31st May Tauranga
Mountain Biking 6 Friday 7th June Taupo
Ultimate Frisbee 7 Friday 14th June Gisborne
Rockwall Climbing 8 Friday 21st June Taupo
Mixed 6-aside Hockey 9 Friday 28th June Kaitao
Term 3
Basketball 1 Friday 26th July Kaitao
Winter Tournament 2 Friday 2nd August Bay of Plenty
Cross Country 3 Friday 9th August Mount
Rugby 7s 5 Friday 23rd August Te Puke
NZ AIMS Games 8 Sunday 8th – Friday 13th September WBOP Int. Schools
Term 4
Ki-o-Rahi 3 Friday 1st November Gisborne
Annual Meeting 4 Thursday 7th November Whakatane
Volleyball 4 Friday 8th November Otumoetai
Beach Challenge/Triathlon 5 Thursday 14th – Friday 15th November Gisborne/Ilminster

 

Close Menu